Search

Search

Liberec

Felberova, Liberec, 460 01

Liberec Chateau was built in the Renaissance style, and was completed in 1587. The rare Renaissance chapel from the beginning of the 17th century has been preserved in the chateau. There is also a beautiful park open to the public, which is ideal for relaxing in or taking a short stroll.

The original simple Renaissance building was constructed by the brothers Kryštof and Melchior von Redern back in 1582 - 87, and so the chateau is also one of the oldest brick buildings in the city. Its present appearance is the result of several alterations carried out over the centuries, beginning after a devastating fire in 1615. This was then the estate owner, Katharina von Redern, had the chapel and the Nostic Wing built on to the chateau according to plans drawn up by Jan Arkan of Zittau.

In the 20th century the world-famous Skloexport company set up a unique glass showroom in the chateau, and it was this delicate beauty that gave rise to the proud name: "Glass Chateau". However, the chateau complex is unfortunately not open to the public at the moment, although you can still merely admire its interesting exterior right in the very heart of the city.


 
cesky rajliberecky krajkralovehradecky krajstredocesky krajlogoGPCRgreen wayCzechRepubliclogo
 
load